Gleaning the Best of the Rest

At the Mid-South Farm and Gin show in Memphis, Joe Nicosia gives the annual economic update. Nicosia is CEO of Allenberg Cotton Co. in Cordova, TN.

I used to take notes, but my handwriting has become chicken scratch on steroids. Plus I’m slow. Plus, I’m lazy. Never underestimate the power of laziness.

So, I digitally record everything I do. I’ve never been accused of misquoting anyone, but if I ever am, I have the recording to back me up.

The downside to all this is that I have to transcribe notes from the recordings. Nicosia usually speaks for 45 minutes and it takes me a good portion of a day to transcribe his presentation. As I said, I’m lazy. And slow.
But to the point. What we wind up with is a three-page story from which we can only glean the highlights.

What I thought I’d do is scan through some of the notes for something worthwhile that had to be left out of the story. There were many, and I don’t have enough space to do them justice here either.

So here are my best of the rest of Nicosia’s comments:
• “The important thing to remember, the acreage increase we had came at $1.30 to $1.50. So just because we increased acreage one year doesn’t mean we retain them every year going forward.”
• “In 2011, who was going to grow more cotton? At those price levels, the answer was everyone. It was the most profitable crop in the word, and we expected most farmers in most nations around the world to respond to high prices. And they did.”
• “Things can change very, very quickly, both in the world and in the United States.”
• “The U.S. played a critical role in being the holder of stocks. Today we don’t do that. But with that comes loss of control over your future and what it is that you can understand and have influence over.”
• “At Christmas time, I had a hard time finding 100% cotton products to buy. T-shirts, sweatshirts. I had a hard time finding things that you would think would be 100% cotton no matter what. They weren’t.”
• “Apparel inventories have not come back. They are still very lean. In other words, the pipeline in the United States is still empty. If we can get consumer confidence and business confidence back, and the economy gets going again, we’ll see a drastic increase in demand for cotton and apparel products.”
• “India has the cheapest cotton in the world. This is what happens when you have labor and you hand-pick cotton. However, the Indian advantage is starting to shrink. Their prices are moving up.”
• “If prices move up too much for both old-crop and new-crop, the propensity to have oversupply in 2013 is even greater.”
• “So there are warning signs ahead and you better be careful.”
Sage advice, even for the lazy.

Leave a Reply

Opinion Stories
Opinion

For Vilsack, the Time is Now

March 1, 2016

It’s time for Tom Vilsack to provide some value to America’s beleaguered cotton industry.

Opinion

Talkin’ Turkey About Political Trade Games

May 8, 2015

It’s true that politics makes strange bedfellows. The same can be said about international trade.

Opinion

Some Perspective on This Dwindling Cotton Acreage

April 2, 2015

We released the results from our annual Cotton Grower Acreage Survey in January. There is a degree of anxiety that comes with being the first out of the gate. But it feels good when our number lines up with everyone else’s.

Opinion

Bandless Bales May Be Too Risky

March 4, 2015

A new bale packaging technique may be more trouble than it’s worth.

Opinion

Growing Up in Cotton – Delta Style

March 3, 2015

Scott Coopwood knows why the Delta cotton lifestyle of his boyhood has vanished. But by looking back, he remains hopeful for the region’s cotton future.

white ripe cotton field ready for harvest
Common Thread

Changing the WTO Narrative

March 2, 2015

American cotton has been a favorite target of the WTO for long enough.

News

Advancing Biocontrols

February 12, 2015

Today’s biocontrol companies have a more realistic view of what it takes to penetrate the ag market.

Around The Gin
Product News

Record Yields Set by 2015 FiberMax One Ton Club

May 4, 2016

The 127 members who qualified for the FiberMax One Ton Club pushed cotton yields and quality to higher levels in 2015.

Product News

Meister Media Worldwide Website Relaunches With New Resources

April 22, 2016

Meister Media Worldwide — publisher of Cotton Grower magazine – has relaunched its corporate website, highlighting information and services available from one of agriculture’s leading media companies.

Product News

ReinCloud Promises Remote Control

April 18, 2016

New software set to combine irrigation management and data collection – all in the palm of your hand.

Product News

Search Begins for Deltapine Class of 17

April 14, 2016

Deltapine’s NPE program is nine years old, and the search for the company’s Class of 17 cotton varieties is underway.

Product News

Texas Farmer First to Plant Enlist Cotton Variety

April 11, 2016

Dean Hansen of El Campo, TX, was the first cotton grower in North America to plant the first commercially-available cottonseed with the Enlist cotton trait.

Product News

New Options for Roundup Ready PLUS Program

March 25, 2016

The Roundup Ready PLUS Crop Management Solutions program for 2016 includes a new tool for weed management and new incentives for farmers looking to fight insect pests in corn.

Product News

Greenleaf Launches easyFlow Closed Transfer System

March 24, 2016

Greenleaf Technologies has launched the company’s new easyFlow closed transfer system for the North American market.

Product News

AgLogic Launches Aldicarb Product in Georgia

March 15, 2016

Growers in Georgia will be able to use a new aldicarb pesticide in 2016 for nematode and early season pest control.

Latest News
Opinion

For Vilsack, the Time is Now

March 1, 2016

It’s time for Tom Vilsack to provide some value to America’s beleaguered cotton industry.

Opinion

Finding the Next Generation of Cotton Farmers

December 8, 2015

The cotton industry needs an influx of young energy that have an eye on the health of American cotton as a whole. The good news is that young people open to a career in agriculture exist.

Opinion

Talkin’ Turkey About Political Trade Games

May 8, 2015

It’s true that politics makes strange bedfellows. The same can be said about international trade.

Opinion

Some Perspective on This Dwindling Cotton Acreage

April 2, 2015

We released the results from our annual Cotton Grower Acreage Survey in January. There is a degree of anxiety that comes with being the first out of the gate. But it feels good when our number lines up with everyone else’s.

Opinion

Bandless Bales May Be Too Risky

March 4, 2015

A new bale packaging technique may be more trouble than it’s worth.

Opinion

Growing Up in Cotton – Delta Style

March 3, 2015

Scott Coopwood knows why the Delta cotton lifestyle of his boyhood has vanished. But by looking back, he remains hopeful for the region’s cotton future.

Common Thread

Changing the WTO Narrative

March 2, 2015

American cotton has been a favorite target of the WTO for long enough.

News

Advancing Biocontrols

February 12, 2015

Today’s biocontrol companies have a more realistic view of what it takes to penetrate the ag market.

Opinion

An Awakening to the Value of Biopesticides

February 8, 2015

With the entry of major ag chem companies into the biopesticide arena, whether or not biopesticides work is no longer the question. Now, people want to understand how they work.

Opinion

The True Value of Cotton LEADS

December 14, 2014

“If you don’t tell your own story, somebody out there is going to tell it for you,” a Texas farmer told me. “And they won’t always tell it correctly.”

Opinion

A Look Back at “King Cotton”

December 2, 2014

Sometimes those of us in the cotton business need a reminder – a look back, if you will – at cotton’s heritage, how we got where we are, and what it all means to a broader audience.

Opinion

An Open Letter to Neil Young

August 29, 2014

Dear Neil. Protecting their land is something cotton growers do every day. It’s not a fly-by Cause of the Day for them – although it might be for you.

Market Analysis

China: Still the Elephant in Cotton’s Room

July 29, 2014

In the world of cotton, China is still the enormous elephant in the room.

Market Analysis

Cleveland: Strong U.S. Exports Bolster Cotton Market

February 7, 2014

Cotton prices eased higher near week’s end as Thursday’s rally brought the nearby March back above 86 cents.  The week

International

Stability and Prosperity Are the New Frontier

December 30, 2013

The American concept of “frontier” is applicable to the current situation our industry faces.