facebook_pixel

Gleaning the Best of the Rest

At the Mid-South Farm and Gin show in Memphis, Joe Nicosia gives the annual economic update. Nicosia is CEO of Allenberg Cotton Co. in Cordova, TN.

I used to take notes, but my handwriting has become chicken scratch on steroids. Plus I’m slow. Plus, I’m lazy. Never underestimate the power of laziness.

So, I digitally record everything I do. I’ve never been accused of misquoting anyone, but if I ever am, I have the recording to back me up.

The downside to all this is that I have to transcribe notes from the recordings. Nicosia usually speaks for 45 minutes and it takes me a good portion of a day to transcribe his presentation. As I said, I’m lazy. And slow.
But to the point. What we wind up with is a three-page story from which we can only glean the highlights.

What I thought I’d do is scan through some of the notes for something worthwhile that had to be left out of the story. There were many, and I don’t have enough space to do them justice here either.

So here are my best of the rest of Nicosia’s comments:
• “The important thing to remember, the acreage increase we had came at $1.30 to $1.50. So just because we increased acreage one year doesn’t mean we retain them every year going forward.”
• “In 2011, who was going to grow more cotton? At those price levels, the answer was everyone. It was the most profitable crop in the word, and we expected most farmers in most nations around the world to respond to high prices. And they did.”
• “Things can change very, very quickly, both in the world and in the United States.”
• “The U.S. played a critical role in being the holder of stocks. Today we don’t do that. But with that comes loss of control over your future and what it is that you can understand and have influence over.”
• “At Christmas time, I had a hard time finding 100% cotton products to buy. T-shirts, sweatshirts. I had a hard time finding things that you would think would be 100% cotton no matter what. They weren’t.”
• “Apparel inventories have not come back. They are still very lean. In other words, the pipeline in the United States is still empty. If we can get consumer confidence and business confidence back, and the economy gets going again, we’ll see a drastic increase in demand for cotton and apparel products.”
• “India has the cheapest cotton in the world. This is what happens when you have labor and you hand-pick cotton. However, the Indian advantage is starting to shrink. Their prices are moving up.”
• “If prices move up too much for both old-crop and new-crop, the propensity to have oversupply in 2013 is even greater.”
• “So there are warning signs ahead and you better be careful.”
Sage advice, even for the lazy.

Leave a Reply

Opinion Stories
International

Some New Thoughts for the Cotton Industry

August 23, 2017

Dr. Seshadri Ramkumar of Texas Tech spent part of his summer in India, observing and discussing the country’s cotton industry and goals. He shares some of his observations in this commentary.

Opinion

Creating Novel Functional Cottons

September 15, 2017

Incorporation of biological molecules to cotton may lead to development of novel functional cottons.

Opinion

Outlook Still Optimistic for Texas Cotton

September 2, 2017

Hurricane Harvey has focused the eyes of the world on Texas. Although cotton losses along the Gulf Coast are substantial, there is still optimism for a bumper crop as the High Plains moves toward harvest.

Opinion

Cotton Industry Begins Year with Optimism

January 20, 2017

Higher global cotton production and increased demand is the current state of the cotton industry.

Opinion

Is Our 2017 Acreage Estimate Too Low?

January 10, 2017

If our estimate holds true, or if it proves lower than what actually transpires next season, it could mean great things for American cotton in 2017 and beyond.

Opinion

Don’t Be Your Own Worst Enemy

September 7, 2016

At a key moment in the registration process for new weed control technologies, a few irresponsible farmers are threatening to jeopardize it all.

Beck Barnes
Opinion

Cotton Incorporated Strikes Back

June 28, 2016

When bullies come after our industry, who is better equipped to stare them down than Cotton Incorporated?

Around The Gin
Product News

Direct-to-Grower Independent Seed Company Launched

October 20, 2017

A new direct-to-growers seed company is entering the market to provide growers with custom-crafted seed offerings delivered to their farm.

Product News

INTL FCStone Offers Online Tool for OTC Hedging Strategies

October 17, 2017

INTL FCStone Markets, LLC has introduced a new online pricing tool that provides users open access to the firm’s structured products pricing portfolio.

Product News

Americot Team Continues to Grow

October 6, 2017

Americot continues to expand the company’s sales and technical support team, with the addition of six new specialists located throughout the Cotton Belt.

Product News

NemaStrike Technology Ready for Nematode Control in 2018

October 6, 2017

Monsanto adds NemaStrike Technology as a new seed treatment solution to control nematode species across the Cotton Belt.

Product News

Americot Adds Three to Regional Sales Force

September 20, 2017

Americot, Inc. has added three new regional representatives to the company’s sales force.

Product News

Enlist One Herbicide Added to Enlist System

September 13, 2017

Dow AgroSciences adds a straight-goods 2,4-D choline herbicide for additional tank-mix flexibility in Enlist crops.

Product News

Elevore Herbicide Registered for Burndown Use

August 30, 2017

Dow AgroSciences’ Elevore herbicide has received federal registration for use in fall and spring burndown programs for cotton, soybeans and corn.

Product News

Stoneville Legacy Club Honors Charter Members

August 24, 2017

The new Stoneville Legacy Club honored 129 growers who recorded average yields of 1,794 lbs/A or higher on at least 20 acres with Stoneville cotton varieties.

Latest News
Opinion

Creating Novel Functional Cottons

September 15, 2017

Incorporation of biological molecules to cotton may lead to development of novel functional cottons.

Opinion

Outlook Still Optimistic for Texas Cotton

September 2, 2017

Hurricane Harvey has focused the eyes of the world on Texas. Although cotton losses along the Gulf Coast are substantial, there is still optimism for a bumper crop as the High Plains moves toward harvest.

International

Some New Thoughts for the Cotton Industry

August 23, 2017

Dr. Seshadri Ramkumar of Texas Tech spent part of his summer in India, observing and discussing the country’s cotton industry and goals. He shares some of his observations in this commentary.

Opinion

No One Reason for “Frustrating” Dicamba Issue

July 18, 2017

Tennessee Weed Specialist Larry Steckel has walked hundreds of drift-damaged soybean fields in the past few weeks. He shares some opinions about possible reasons for the problem.

Opinion

Global Cotton Must Confront Polyester

February 23, 2017

In the face of massive shifts in consumption, member nations of the WTO must hold polyester to the same standards as cotton.

Opinion

Cotton Industry Begins Year with Optimism

January 20, 2017

Higher global cotton production and increased demand is the current state of the cotton industry.

Opinion

Is Our 2017 Acreage Estimate Too Low?

January 10, 2017

If our estimate holds true, or if it proves lower than what actually transpires next season, it could mean great things for American cotton in 2017 and beyond.

Opinion

Don’t Be Your Own Worst Enemy

September 7, 2016

At a key moment in the registration process for new weed control technologies, a few irresponsible farmers are threatening to jeopardize it all.

Opinion

Cotton Incorporated Strikes Back

June 28, 2016

When bullies come after our industry, who is better equipped to stare them down than Cotton Incorporated?

Opinion

For Vilsack, the Time is Now

March 1, 2016

It’s time for Tom Vilsack to provide some value to America’s beleaguered cotton industry.

Opinion

Finding the Next Generation of Cotton Farmers

December 8, 2015

The cotton industry needs an influx of young energy that have an eye on the health of American cotton as a whole. The good news is that young people open to a career in agriculture exist.

Opinion

Talkin’ Turkey About Political Trade Games

May 8, 2015

It’s true that politics makes strange bedfellows. The same can be said about international trade.

Opinion

Some Perspective on This Dwindling Cotton Acreage

April 2, 2015

We released the results from our annual Cotton Grower Acreage Survey in January. There is a degree of anxiety that comes with being the first out of the gate. But it feels good when our number lines up with everyone else’s.

Opinion

Bandless Bales May Be Too Risky

March 4, 2015

A new bale packaging technique may be more trouble than it’s worth.

Opinion

Growing Up in Cotton – Delta Style

March 3, 2015

Scott Coopwood knows why the Delta cotton lifestyle of his boyhood has vanished. But by looking back, he remains hopeful for the region’s cotton future.