Gleaning the Best of the Rest

At the Mid-South Farm and Gin show in Memphis, Joe Nicosia gives the annual economic update. Nicosia is CEO of Allenberg Cotton Co. in Cordova, TN.

I used to take notes, but my handwriting has become chicken scratch on steroids. Plus I’m slow. Plus, I’m lazy. Never underestimate the power of laziness.

So, I digitally record everything I do. I’ve never been accused of misquoting anyone, but if I ever am, I have the recording to back me up.

The downside to all this is that I have to transcribe notes from the recordings. Nicosia usually speaks for 45 minutes and it takes me a good portion of a day to transcribe his presentation. As I said, I’m lazy. And slow.
But to the point. What we wind up with is a three-page story from which we can only glean the highlights.

What I thought I’d do is scan through some of the notes for something worthwhile that had to be left out of the story. There were many, and I don’t have enough space to do them justice here either.

So here are my best of the rest of Nicosia’s comments:
• “The important thing to remember, the acreage increase we had came at $1.30 to $1.50. So just because we increased acreage one year doesn’t mean we retain them every year going forward.”
• “In 2011, who was going to grow more cotton? At those price levels, the answer was everyone. It was the most profitable crop in the word, and we expected most farmers in most nations around the world to respond to high prices. And they did.”
• “Things can change very, very quickly, both in the world and in the United States.”
• “The U.S. played a critical role in being the holder of stocks. Today we don’t do that. But with that comes loss of control over your future and what it is that you can understand and have influence over.”
• “At Christmas time, I had a hard time finding 100% cotton products to buy. T-shirts, sweatshirts. I had a hard time finding things that you would think would be 100% cotton no matter what. They weren’t.”
• “Apparel inventories have not come back. They are still very lean. In other words, the pipeline in the United States is still empty. If we can get consumer confidence and business confidence back, and the economy gets going again, we’ll see a drastic increase in demand for cotton and apparel products.”
• “India has the cheapest cotton in the world. This is what happens when you have labor and you hand-pick cotton. However, the Indian advantage is starting to shrink. Their prices are moving up.”
• “If prices move up too much for both old-crop and new-crop, the propensity to have oversupply in 2013 is even greater.”
• “So there are warning signs ahead and you better be careful.”
Sage advice, even for the lazy.

Leave a Reply

Opinion Stories

Market Analysis

Cleveland: Strong U.S. Exports Bolster Cotton Market

February 7, 2014

Cotton prices eased higher near week’s end as Thursday’s rally brought the nearby March back above 86 cents.  The week was highlighted by strong U.S. export sales, the firming of Indian prices, ideas that the US crop is not as

Opinion

An Open Letter to Neil Young

August 29, 2014

Dear Neil. Protecting their land is something cotton growers do every day. It’s not a fly-by Cause of the Day for them – although it might be for you.

Market Analysis

China: Still the Elephant in Cotton’s Room

July 29, 2014

In the world of cotton, China is still the enormous elephant in the room.

International

Stability and Prosperity Are the New Frontier

December 30, 2013

The American concept of “frontier” is applicable to the current situation our industry faces.

Market Analysis

Terrell: What is the Best Season for Selling Cotton?

October 31, 2013

By Sterling T. Terrell I love this time of year. Less heat. More cool air. Clouds roll in. School is back in session. Harvest time is here. We start thinking about the upcoming holiday season. We worry about what relative’s

Opinion

In Farm Bill Debate, Congress Should Remember America’s Farm Youth

May 16, 2013

Spring was an unusually cool and wet one here in the Mid-South, so it’s nice to finally have everything in full bloom and temperatures up where they should be. Most of you have a young crop on your hands at

Marketing

Debate Heating Up on World Cotton Futures Contract

May 15, 2013

It’s going to happen, and everyone knows it. Sooner or later, the industry will settle on a global cotton contract to complement the current ICE Futures US contract. The only unknowns are when it will be implemented, and what the

Around The Gin

Product News

Grow Ag Leaders Scholarship Program Includes Cotton Belt States

October 28, 2014

Grow Ag Leaders is offering more than $500,000 in college scholarships to students interested in agricultural careers. The program is available in 40 states, including many throughout the Cotton Belt.

Product News

Platform Specialty Products to Acquire Arysta LifeScience as Component for New Company

October 21, 2014

Platform Specialty Products has reached a definitive agreement to acquire Arysta LifeScience for approximately $3.51 billion.

Product News

PhytoGen Partners with Farmers to Aid Local Charities

October 17, 2014

Since becoming a partner in the Swisher Sweets/Sunbelt Expo Southeastern Farmer of the Year program three years ago, PhytoGen has made donations to 25 charities on behalf of state farmers of the year.

Product News

Enlist Duo Herbicide Approved; Enlist Weed Control System Now Cleared for Use

October 16, 2014

The Enlist Weed Control System from Dow AgroSciences has been approved for field use in corn and soybeans in 2015 by federal regulatory authorities, with introduction in cotton still scheduled for 2016.

News

Registration for 2015 Beltwide Cotton Conferences Opens as Program Takes Shape

October 3, 2014

Registration now is open for the 2015 Beltwide Cotton Conferences, set for January 5-7 at the Marriott Rivercenter in San Antonio, TX.

Product News

October 10 Deadline for Public Comments on Roundup Ready Xtend Crop System Plants

September 25, 2014

The public comment period on the draft environmental impact statement for cotton and soybean plants for Monsanto’s Roundup Ready Xtend Crop System will remain open through October 10.

Cotton Production

New Cotton Webcasts Focus on Using Yield Monitor Data for Precision Planning

September 10, 2014

Two new webcasts to help growers successfully capture and use data from yield monitors have been added to the Focus on Cotton online webcast resource, developed by Cotton Incorporated and the Plant Management Network.

Marketing

First Class Selected for Cotton Research and Promotion Program Hall of Fame

September 8, 2014

Five honorees have been elected to the first class of Cotton Incorporated’s newly-established Cotton Research and Promotion Program Hall of Fame.

Latest News

Opinion

An Open Letter to Neil Young

August 29, 2014

Dear Neil. Protecting their land is something cotton growers do every day. It’s not a fly-by Cause of the Day for them – although it might be for you.

Market Analysis

China: Still the Elephant in Cotton’s Room

July 29, 2014

In the world of cotton, China is still the enormous elephant in the room.

Market Analysis

Cleveland: Strong U.S. Exports Bolster Cotton Market

February 7, 2014

Cotton prices eased higher near week’s end as Thursday’s rally brought the nearby March back above 86 cents.  The week was highlighted by strong U.S. export sales, the firming of Indian prices, ideas that the US crop is not as

International

Stability and Prosperity Are the New Frontier

December 30, 2013

The American concept of “frontier” is applicable to the current situation our industry faces.

Market Analysis

Terrell: What is the Best Season for Selling Cotton?

October 31, 2013

By Sterling T. Terrell I love this time of year. Less heat. More cool air. Clouds roll in. School is back in session. Harvest time is here. We start thinking about the upcoming holiday season. We worry about what relative’s

Opinion

In Farm Bill Debate, Congress Should Remember America’s Farm Youth

May 16, 2013

Spring was an unusually cool and wet one here in the Mid-South, so it’s nice to finally have everything in full bloom and temperatures up where they should be. Most of you have a young crop on your hands at

Marketing

Debate Heating Up on World Cotton Futures Contract

May 15, 2013

It’s going to happen, and everyone knows it. Sooner or later, the industry will settle on a global cotton contract to complement the current ICE Futures US contract. The only unknowns are when it will be implemented, and what the

Opinion

Resistant Weed Control Begins With Understanding the Threat

January 31, 2013

In our March issue, we’ll have a special insert devoted to coverage of the Cotton Grower SoundOFF event held at the Beltwide Cotton Conferences. Boiled down, the idea behind SoundOFF is to hand industry experts a microphone and an audience,

Opinion

A Time for Leaders to Step Forward

December 10, 2012

Few issues we publish capture the challenges and opportunities facing the cotton and textile industries more than the one you hold in your hands right now. The pages include a regional overview of three major cotton-producing and consuming countries and

Opinion

Empowering African Farmers Will Keep Them in Cotton

December 10, 2012

Cotton yields in Africa are the lowest in the world. The countries in West and Central Africa have an average yield of 343 kilograms lint per hectare (kg/ha), while East and Southern African countries generate only 227 kg/ha. In fact,

Opinion

Designing a Brighter Future for Cotton

December 10, 2012

The choice between natural or synthetic fibers is a crucial decision that every textile professional needs to address at the earliest stages of the design process. Sometimes, the fiber “chooses its own path” based on end use and upfront costs,

Opinion

China Makes Better Cotton a Top Priority

November 29, 2012

One could make the case that the Q3 issue of Cotton International brings together the most important topic (sustainability) and the most important country (China) in all of the cotton universe. Not only would I make that case, I would

Opinion

Today’s Butterflies Are Tomorrow’s Hurricanes

November 27, 2012

The theme of the 2012 Mid-Year issue is, “United We Rise,” in recognition of the fact that a high level of performance in any one sector of the supply chain benefits the other sectors as well. Unfortunately, the converse of

Opinion

Cotton’s Image Suffers from Confusion about Sustainability

August 2, 2012

Ask 10 different people what “sustainability” means and you’ll likely get 10 different answers. While there might be some confusion about exactly how to define it, there’s no doubt that it’s a huge consideration for consumers. That alarming thought crossed

Opinion

We’re All in the Same Boat

May 1, 2012

If there’s one thing we have all learned over these past few years, it’s that the ability to adapt to a rapidly changing market environment is critical to the continued success of our businesses. That sentiment is reflected in virtually