Gleaning the Best of the Rest

At the Mid-South Farm and Gin show in Memphis, Joe Nicosia gives the annual economic update. Nicosia is CEO of Allenberg Cotton Co. in Cordova, TN.

I used to take notes, but my handwriting has become chicken scratch on steroids. Plus I’m slow. Plus, I’m lazy. Never underestimate the power of laziness.

So, I digitally record everything I do. I’ve never been accused of misquoting anyone, but if I ever am, I have the recording to back me up.

The downside to all this is that I have to transcribe notes from the recordings. Nicosia usually speaks for 45 minutes and it takes me a good portion of a day to transcribe his presentation. As I said, I’m lazy. And slow.
But to the point. What we wind up with is a three-page story from which we can only glean the highlights.

What I thought I’d do is scan through some of the notes for something worthwhile that had to be left out of the story. There were many, and I don’t have enough space to do them justice here either.

So here are my best of the rest of Nicosia’s comments:
• “The important thing to remember, the acreage increase we had came at $1.30 to $1.50. So just because we increased acreage one year doesn’t mean we retain them every year going forward.”
• “In 2011, who was going to grow more cotton? At those price levels, the answer was everyone. It was the most profitable crop in the word, and we expected most farmers in most nations around the world to respond to high prices. And they did.”
• “Things can change very, very quickly, both in the world and in the United States.”
• “The U.S. played a critical role in being the holder of stocks. Today we don’t do that. But with that comes loss of control over your future and what it is that you can understand and have influence over.”
• “At Christmas time, I had a hard time finding 100% cotton products to buy. T-shirts, sweatshirts. I had a hard time finding things that you would think would be 100% cotton no matter what. They weren’t.”
• “Apparel inventories have not come back. They are still very lean. In other words, the pipeline in the United States is still empty. If we can get consumer confidence and business confidence back, and the economy gets going again, we’ll see a drastic increase in demand for cotton and apparel products.”
• “India has the cheapest cotton in the world. This is what happens when you have labor and you hand-pick cotton. However, the Indian advantage is starting to shrink. Their prices are moving up.”
• “If prices move up too much for both old-crop and new-crop, the propensity to have oversupply in 2013 is even greater.”
• “So there are warning signs ahead and you better be careful.”
Sage advice, even for the lazy.

Leave a Reply

Opinion Stories

Market Analysis

Cleveland: Strong U.S. Exports Bolster Cotton Market

February 7, 2014

Cotton prices eased higher near week’s end as Thursday’s rally brought the nearby March back above 86 cents.  The week

Opinion

An Open Letter to Neil Young

August 29, 2014

Dear Neil. Protecting their land is something cotton growers do every day. It’s not a fly-by Cause of the Day for them – although it might be for you.

Market Analysis

China: Still the Elephant in Cotton’s Room

July 29, 2014

In the world of cotton, China is still the enormous elephant in the room.

International

Stability and Prosperity Are the New Frontier

December 30, 2013

The American concept of “frontier” is applicable to the current situation our industry faces.

Market Analysis

Terrell: What is the Best Season for Selling Cotton?

October 31, 2013

By Sterling T. Terrell I love this time of year. Less heat. More cool air. Clouds roll in. School is

Opinion

In Farm Bill Debate, Congress Should Remember America’s Farm Youth

May 16, 2013

Spring was an unusually cool and wet one here in the Mid-South, so it’s nice to finally have everything in

Marketing

Debate Heating Up on World Cotton Futures Contract

May 15, 2013

It’s going to happen, and everyone knows it. Sooner or later, the industry will settle on a global cotton contract

Around The Gin

Product News

Americot Adds Another High Yielder for 2015

November 24, 2014

Americot rode to success on the performance of two top varieties in 2014. For 2015, the company is adding another workhorse variety to the stable.

Product News

CROPLAN a Brand to Watch for 2015

November 21, 2014

Growers familiar with CROPLAN corn and soybean varieties in the South may want to keep an eye on the company’s cotton program, too.

Product News

Deltapine Focused on Raising the Yield Bar in 2015

November 17, 2014

No brand of cotton seed was planted on more acres in 2014 than Deltapine. So it stands to reason that the company’s variety researchers are preparing to introduce monumental changes to their seed lineup in 2015.

Product News

Growth Continues for Dyna-Gro and All-Tex

November 13, 2014

Crop Production Services has put a two brand approach in place for its Dyna-Gro and All-Tex brands of cotton. And their varieties are getting stronger each year.

Product News

PhytoGen Gaining Foothold in West Texas Market

November 12, 2014

In a year that saw PhytoGen introduce several new varieties to the Cotton Belt, an old standard once again stole the headlines as the company looks to gain more of the Southwest market.

Product News

Monsanto, Sumitomo and Valent Extend Crop Protection Partnership

November 10, 2014

Monsanto, Sumitomo Chemical and Valent U.S.A. have agreed to extend their strategic partnership in Monsanto’s Roundup Ready PLUS Crop Management Solutions platform for U.S. cotton and soybeans.

Product News

Grow Ag Leaders Scholarship Program Includes Cotton Belt States

October 28, 2014

Grow Ag Leaders is offering more than $500,000 in college scholarships to students interested in agricultural careers. The program is available in 40 states, including many throughout the Cotton Belt.

Product News

Platform Specialty Products to Acquire Arysta LifeScience as Component for New Company

October 21, 2014

Platform Specialty Products has reached a definitive agreement to acquire Arysta LifeScience for approximately $3.51 billion.

Latest News

Opinion

An Open Letter to Neil Young

August 29, 2014

Dear Neil. Protecting their land is something cotton growers do every day. It’s not a fly-by Cause of the Day for them – although it might be for you.

Market Analysis

China: Still the Elephant in Cotton’s Room

July 29, 2014

In the world of cotton, China is still the enormous elephant in the room.

Market Analysis

Cleveland: Strong U.S. Exports Bolster Cotton Market

February 7, 2014

Cotton prices eased higher near week’s end as Thursday’s rally brought the nearby March back above 86 cents.  The week

International

Stability and Prosperity Are the New Frontier

December 30, 2013

The American concept of “frontier” is applicable to the current situation our industry faces.

Market Analysis

Terrell: What is the Best Season for Selling Cotton?

October 31, 2013

By Sterling T. Terrell I love this time of year. Less heat. More cool air. Clouds roll in. School is

Opinion

In Farm Bill Debate, Congress Should Remember America’s Farm Youth

May 16, 2013

Spring was an unusually cool and wet one here in the Mid-South, so it’s nice to finally have everything in

Marketing

Debate Heating Up on World Cotton Futures Contract

May 15, 2013

It’s going to happen, and everyone knows it. Sooner or later, the industry will settle on a global cotton contract

Opinion

Resistant Weed Control Begins With Understanding the Threat

January 31, 2013

In our March issue, we’ll have a special insert devoted to coverage of the Cotton Grower SoundOFF event held at

Opinion

A Time for Leaders to Step Forward

December 10, 2012

Few issues we publish capture the challenges and opportunities facing the cotton and textile industries more than the one you

Opinion

Empowering African Farmers Will Keep Them in Cotton

December 10, 2012

Cotton yields in Africa are the lowest in the world. The countries in West and Central Africa have an average

Opinion

Designing a Brighter Future for Cotton

December 10, 2012

The choice between natural or synthetic fibers is a crucial decision that every textile professional needs to address at the

Opinion

China Makes Better Cotton a Top Priority

November 29, 2012

One could make the case that the Q3 issue of Cotton International brings together the most important topic (sustainability) and

Opinion

Today’s Butterflies Are Tomorrow’s Hurricanes

November 27, 2012

The theme of the 2012 Mid-Year issue is, “United We Rise,” in recognition of the fact that a high level

Opinion

Cotton’s Image Suffers from Confusion about Sustainability

August 2, 2012

Ask 10 different people what “sustainability” means and you’ll likely get 10 different answers. While there might be some confusion

Opinion

We’re All in the Same Boat

May 1, 2012

If there’s one thing we have all learned over these past few years, it’s that the ability to adapt to