Gleaning the Best of the Rest

At the Mid-South Farm and Gin show in Memphis, Joe Nicosia gives the annual economic update. Nicosia is CEO of Allenberg Cotton Co. in Cordova, TN.

I used to take notes, but my handwriting has become chicken scratch on steroids. Plus I’m slow. Plus, I’m lazy. Never underestimate the power of laziness.

So, I digitally record everything I do. I’ve never been accused of misquoting anyone, but if I ever am, I have the recording to back me up.

The downside to all this is that I have to transcribe notes from the recordings. Nicosia usually speaks for 45 minutes and it takes me a good portion of a day to transcribe his presentation. As I said, I’m lazy. And slow.
But to the point. What we wind up with is a three-page story from which we can only glean the highlights.

What I thought I’d do is scan through some of the notes for something worthwhile that had to be left out of the story. There were many, and I don’t have enough space to do them justice here either.

So here are my best of the rest of Nicosia’s comments:
• “The important thing to remember, the acreage increase we had came at $1.30 to $1.50. So just because we increased acreage one year doesn’t mean we retain them every year going forward.”
• “In 2011, who was going to grow more cotton? At those price levels, the answer was everyone. It was the most profitable crop in the word, and we expected most farmers in most nations around the world to respond to high prices. And they did.”
• “Things can change very, very quickly, both in the world and in the United States.”
• “The U.S. played a critical role in being the holder of stocks. Today we don’t do that. But with that comes loss of control over your future and what it is that you can understand and have influence over.”
• “At Christmas time, I had a hard time finding 100% cotton products to buy. T-shirts, sweatshirts. I had a hard time finding things that you would think would be 100% cotton no matter what. They weren’t.”
• “Apparel inventories have not come back. They are still very lean. In other words, the pipeline in the United States is still empty. If we can get consumer confidence and business confidence back, and the economy gets going again, we’ll see a drastic increase in demand for cotton and apparel products.”
• “India has the cheapest cotton in the world. This is what happens when you have labor and you hand-pick cotton. However, the Indian advantage is starting to shrink. Their prices are moving up.”
• “If prices move up too much for both old-crop and new-crop, the propensity to have oversupply in 2013 is even greater.”
• “So there are warning signs ahead and you better be careful.”
Sage advice, even for the lazy.

Leave a Reply

Opinion Stories
Opinion

The True Value of Cotton LEADS

December 14, 2014

“If you don’t tell your own story, somebody out there is going to tell it for you,” a Texas farmer told me. “And they won’t always tell it correctly.”

Opinion

Unraveling the Common Thread

January 22, 2015

Cotton Grower is launching an initiative to showcase a broader view of the cotton industry.

Opinion

A Look Back at “King Cotton”

December 2, 2014

Sometimes those of us in the cotton business need a reminder – a look back, if you will – at cotton’s heritage, how we got where we are, and what it all means to a broader audience.

Opinion

An Open Letter to Neil Young

August 29, 2014

Dear Neil. Protecting their land is something cotton growers do every day. It’s not a fly-by Cause of the Day for them – although it might be for you.

Market Analysis

China: Still the Elephant in Cotton’s Room

July 29, 2014

In the world of cotton, China is still the enormous elephant in the room.

International

Stability and Prosperity Are the New Frontier

December 30, 2013

The American concept of “frontier” is applicable to the current situation our industry faces.

Market Analysis

Terrell: What is the Best Season for Selling Cotton?

October 31, 2013

By Sterling T. Terrell I love this time of year. Less heat. More cool air. Clouds roll in. School is

Around The Gin
Product News

Deltapine to Release Five Bollgard II XtendFlex Cotton Varieties

January 27, 2015

Following USDA deregulation of the Bollgard II XtendFlex cotton technology, Deltapine has announced plans to offer five new B2XF varieties for the 2015 season.

Product News

Bollgard II XtendFlex Cotton Poised for Limited Introduction

January 21, 2015

A limited introduction of Bollgard II XtendFlex cotton varieties is planned for the 2015 planting season through Deltapine and select licensees.

Product News

USDA Deregulates Dicamba-Tolerant Technologies for Cotton and Soybeans

January 16, 2015

The USDA has announced its decision to deregulate Bollgard II XtendFlex cotton and Roundup Ready 2 Xtend soybeans – Monsanto’s dicamba-tolerant trait technologies for those crops.

Product News

Bayer CropScience Anticipates Registration for New Cotton and Peanut Insecticide

January 15, 2015

Bayer CropScience anticipates the registration of Velum Total, the company’s newest insecticide/nematicide, for the 2015 cotton and peanut season in the Southeast.

Product News

New FiberMax and Stoneville Varieties for 2015 Feature GLT Technology

January 14, 2015

Bayer CropScience has announced four new FiberMax and Stoneville cotton varieties for the 2015 season.

Product News

PhytoGen Introduces 2015 Cotton Varieties

January 13, 2015

PhytoGen’s cottonseed portfolio for 2015 includes proven high yielding varieties, as well as new varieties featuring advanced insect, nematode and disease technologies.

Product News

Monsanto and FMC Renew and Broaden Crop Protection Agreement

January 8, 2015

Monsanto and FMC have agreed to extend and broaden their current relationship to help benefit cotton, corn and soybean growers through Roundup Ready PLUS Crop Management Solutions.

Product News

Deltapine Announces Class of 15 Cotton Varieties

December 16, 2014

Deltapine has announced two new high-yielding cotton varieties for its Class of 15, with several potential varieties awaiting regulatory approvals of the Bollgard II XtendFlex technologies.

Latest News
Opinion

Unraveling the Common Thread

January 22, 2015

Cotton Grower is launching an initiative to showcase a broader view of the cotton industry.

Opinion

The True Value of Cotton LEADS

December 14, 2014

“If you don’t tell your own story, somebody out there is going to tell it for you,” a Texas farmer told me. “And they won’t always tell it correctly.”

Opinion

A Look Back at “King Cotton”

December 2, 2014

Sometimes those of us in the cotton business need a reminder – a look back, if you will – at cotton’s heritage, how we got where we are, and what it all means to a broader audience.

Opinion

An Open Letter to Neil Young

August 29, 2014

Dear Neil. Protecting their land is something cotton growers do every day. It’s not a fly-by Cause of the Day for them – although it might be for you.

Market Analysis

China: Still the Elephant in Cotton’s Room

July 29, 2014

In the world of cotton, China is still the enormous elephant in the room.

Market Analysis

Cleveland: Strong U.S. Exports Bolster Cotton Market

February 7, 2014

Cotton prices eased higher near week’s end as Thursday’s rally brought the nearby March back above 86 cents.  The week

International

Stability and Prosperity Are the New Frontier

December 30, 2013

The American concept of “frontier” is applicable to the current situation our industry faces.

Market Analysis

Terrell: What is the Best Season for Selling Cotton?

October 31, 2013

By Sterling T. Terrell I love this time of year. Less heat. More cool air. Clouds roll in. School is

Opinion

In Farm Bill Debate, Congress Should Remember America’s Farm Youth

May 16, 2013

Spring was an unusually cool and wet one here in the Mid-South, so it’s nice to finally have everything in

Marketing

Debate Heating Up on World Cotton Futures Contract

May 15, 2013

It’s going to happen, and everyone knows it. Sooner or later, the industry will settle on a global cotton contract

Opinion

Resistant Weed Control Begins With Understanding the Threat

January 31, 2013

In our March issue, we’ll have a special insert devoted to coverage of the Cotton Grower SoundOFF event held at

Opinion

A Time for Leaders to Step Forward

December 10, 2012

Few issues we publish capture the challenges and opportunities facing the cotton and textile industries more than the one you

Opinion

Empowering African Farmers Will Keep Them in Cotton

December 10, 2012

Cotton yields in Africa are the lowest in the world. The countries in West and Central Africa have an average

Opinion

Designing a Brighter Future for Cotton

December 10, 2012

The choice between natural or synthetic fibers is a crucial decision that every textile professional needs to address at the

Opinion

China Makes Better Cotton a Top Priority

November 29, 2012

One could make the case that the Q3 issue of Cotton International brings together the most important topic (sustainability) and