facebook_pixel

Some Perspective on This Dwindling Cotton Acreage

From Cotton Grower Magazine – April 2015

 

I won’t lie to you, it feels good when we get it right. More accurately, I should say, it feels good when we get it the same way everybody else gets it.

In January, we released the results from our annual Cotton Grower Acreage Survey. We pegged U.S. acreage at 9.7 million acres for the coming year. We take pride in our acreage projections, but there is, without a doubt, a degree of anxiety that comes with being the first out of the gate. Traditionally, the National Cotton Council releases their survey results about a month after ours. Then others weigh in.

I tend to get nervous just before the other acreage projections start showing up. What if we’re way too optimistic in our projections? What if our number is so far below the others that it makes us look foolish? What if we’re way off-base in Texas, and the whole state raises an eyebrow at our prediction?

Luckily, we’re almost always very close to the actual number that gets planted the following spring. And this year, we’re right in line with what everyone else is saying. In January, we predicted 9.7 million acres. In February, the Council announced their projection of 9.4 million acres. At the Mid-South Farm and Gin Show, Joe Nicosia mentioned his company’s projection of 9.4 million acres. And at the end of March, USDA stated their cotton planting intentions at 9.55 million acres.

I remember target shooting in the Boy Scouts as a child. When all three of your shots could fit in the circumference of a quarter, man, that was pretty good. Similarly, we feel pretty good about our acreage survey and projection this year.

What doesn’t feel good, however, is the reason these numbers are so low. The last time U.S. acreage dipped below 10 million acres was in 2009, after speculators had wreaked havoc in the cotton market, sending prices spiraling. This year, Chinese policy is the force driving prices downward.

I know 60 cent cotton is a tough pill to swallow for American growers. But one difference between the 2009 bear market and the current one is that this one arrived as a consequence of supply and demand. As a result, it could correct itself naturally.

As Nicosia mentioned that morning in Memphis, low prices lead to corrective measures. Growers around the world, especially those in China and the U.S., are bound to produce fewer bales this coming season. And less cotton in the world in 2015 can only help prices in the years to come.

So while 2015 prices may be a tough pill to swallow for many growers, it may also be just the medicine that global cotton needs in the long term.

 

 

Topics:

Leave a Reply

Opinion Stories
Opinion

Cotton’s New Year’s Resolutions

January 10, 2018

What would a list of New Year’s Resolutions look like for the U.S. cotton industry? Beck Barnes has some thoughts to consider.

Opinion

Several Factors Vital to U.S. Cotton Industry Growth

October 31, 2017

Maintaining market share, enhanced consumer awareness and continued investments in research and development are needed to keep the U.S. cotton industry advancing.

Opinion

Five-Year-Old Girl Enthused by Cotton Research

October 27, 2017

A visit to a cotton research lab can help encourage students – even five-year-old girls – to consider a career in science.

Opinion

Creating Novel Functional Cottons

September 15, 2017

Incorporation of biological molecules to cotton may lead to development of novel functional cottons.

Opinion

Outlook Still Optimistic for Texas Cotton

September 2, 2017

Hurricane Harvey has focused the eyes of the world on Texas. Although cotton losses along the Gulf Coast are substantial, there is still optimism for a bumper crop as the High Plains moves toward harvest.

Opinion

No One Reason for “Frustrating” Dicamba Issue

July 18, 2017

Tennessee Weed Specialist Larry Steckel has walked hundreds of drift-damaged soybean fields in the past few weeks. He shares some opinions about possible reasons for the problem.

Opinion

Global Cotton Must Confront Polyester

February 23, 2017

In the face of massive shifts in consumption, member nations of the WTO must hold polyester to the same standards as cotton.

Around The Gin
Product News

Indigo Offers Premium for Indigo Cotton Production

January 9, 2018

Indigo Ag has announced a new program that offers significant price premiums for U.S. cotton growers who contract to grow Indigo Cotton.

Product News

New Bayer Varieties Focus on High Yield, Adaptability

January 5, 2018

Bayer releases five new FiberMax and Stoneville varieties for introduction in 2018.

Product News

New PhytoGen TRiO Guards Cottonseed Investment

January 3, 2018

New PhytoGen TRiO seed treatment helps provide early season protection for young cottonseed from diseases, insects and nematodes.

Product News

Americot Adds Seven to Sales, Research Teams

December 20, 2017

Americot has added seven new sales and research associates to the company’s staff across the Cotton Belt.

Product News

Seven New Varieties in Deltapine Class of 18

December 11, 2017

Seven new varieties – including five Bollgard 3 XtendFlex offerings – join the Deltapine product lineup as the Class of 18.

Product News

Special Roundup Ready PLUS Incentives for Arkansas

December 7, 2017

Monsanto is offering a special Roundup Ready PLUS Crop Management Solutions platform in Arkansas for 2018 for growers planting XtendFlex cotton and Roundup Ready 2 Xtend soybean varieties.

Product News

Monsanto Sets 2018 Crop Protection Incentives

December 5, 2017

Monsanto will provide multiple tools, resources and products to help cotton and soybean growers maximize weed control in 2018.

Product News

Praxidyn’s Mixmate Named a 2018 AE50 Award Winner

November 27, 2017

The American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers has recognized Praxidyn's Mixmate portable ag chemical blending and recordkeeping system with a 2018 AE50 award.

Latest News
Opinion

Cotton’s New Year’s Resolutions

January 10, 2018

What would a list of New Year’s Resolutions look like for the U.S. cotton industry? Beck Barnes has some thoughts to consider.

Opinion

Plow Thru Cancer With Me, Won’t You?

November 10, 2017

Cotton Grower Editor/Publisher Beck Barnes gets personal about family and St. Jude...and shares a special request for the cotton community.

Opinion

Several Factors Vital to U.S. Cotton Industry Growth

October 31, 2017

Maintaining market share, enhanced consumer awareness and continued investments in research and development are needed to keep the U.S. cotton industry advancing.

Opinion

Five-Year-Old Girl Enthused by Cotton Research

October 27, 2017

A visit to a cotton research lab can help encourage students – even five-year-old girls – to consider a career in science.

Opinion

Creating Novel Functional Cottons

September 15, 2017

Incorporation of biological molecules to cotton may lead to development of novel functional cottons.

Opinion

Outlook Still Optimistic for Texas Cotton

September 2, 2017

Hurricane Harvey has focused the eyes of the world on Texas. Although cotton losses along the Gulf Coast are substantial, there is still optimism for a bumper crop as the High Plains moves toward harvest.

International

Some New Thoughts for the Cotton Industry

August 23, 2017

Dr. Seshadri Ramkumar of Texas Tech spent part of his summer in India, observing and discussing the country’s cotton industry and goals. He shares some of his observations in this commentary.

Opinion

No One Reason for “Frustrating” Dicamba Issue

July 18, 2017

Tennessee Weed Specialist Larry Steckel has walked hundreds of drift-damaged soybean fields in the past few weeks. He shares some opinions about possible reasons for the problem.

Opinion

Global Cotton Must Confront Polyester

February 23, 2017

In the face of massive shifts in consumption, member nations of the WTO must hold polyester to the same standards as cotton.

Opinion

Cotton Industry Begins Year with Optimism

January 20, 2017

Higher global cotton production and increased demand is the current state of the cotton industry.

Opinion

Is Our 2017 Acreage Estimate Too Low?

January 10, 2017

If our estimate holds true, or if it proves lower than what actually transpires next season, it could mean great things for American cotton in 2017 and beyond.

Opinion

Don’t Be Your Own Worst Enemy

September 7, 2016

At a key moment in the registration process for new weed control technologies, a few irresponsible farmers are threatening to jeopardize it all.

Opinion

Cotton Incorporated Strikes Back

June 28, 2016

When bullies come after our industry, who is better equipped to stare them down than Cotton Incorporated?

Opinion

For Vilsack, the Time is Now

March 1, 2016

It’s time for Tom Vilsack to provide some value to America’s beleaguered cotton industry.

Opinion

Finding the Next Generation of Cotton Farmers

December 8, 2015

The cotton industry needs an influx of young energy that have an eye on the health of American cotton as a whole. The good news is that young people open to a career in agriculture exist.