facebook_pixel

Some Perspective on This Dwindling Cotton Acreage

From Cotton Grower Magazine – April 2015

 

I won’t lie to you, it feels good when we get it right. More accurately, I should say, it feels good when we get it the same way everybody else gets it.

In January, we released the results from our annual Cotton Grower Acreage Survey. We pegged U.S. acreage at 9.7 million acres for the coming year. We take pride in our acreage projections, but there is, without a doubt, a degree of anxiety that comes with being the first out of the gate. Traditionally, the National Cotton Council releases their survey results about a month after ours. Then others weigh in.

I tend to get nervous just before the other acreage projections start showing up. What if we’re way too optimistic in our projections? What if our number is so far below the others that it makes us look foolish? What if we’re way off-base in Texas, and the whole state raises an eyebrow at our prediction?

Luckily, we’re almost always very close to the actual number that gets planted the following spring. And this year, we’re right in line with what everyone else is saying. In January, we predicted 9.7 million acres. In February, the Council announced their projection of 9.4 million acres. At the Mid-South Farm and Gin Show, Joe Nicosia mentioned his company’s projection of 9.4 million acres. And at the end of March, USDA stated their cotton planting intentions at 9.55 million acres.

I remember target shooting in the Boy Scouts as a child. When all three of your shots could fit in the circumference of a quarter, man, that was pretty good. Similarly, we feel pretty good about our acreage survey and projection this year.

What doesn’t feel good, however, is the reason these numbers are so low. The last time U.S. acreage dipped below 10 million acres was in 2009, after speculators had wreaked havoc in the cotton market, sending prices spiraling. This year, Chinese policy is the force driving prices downward.

I know 60 cent cotton is a tough pill to swallow for American growers. But one difference between the 2009 bear market and the current one is that this one arrived as a consequence of supply and demand. As a result, it could correct itself naturally.

As Nicosia mentioned that morning in Memphis, low prices lead to corrective measures. Growers around the world, especially those in China and the U.S., are bound to produce fewer bales this coming season. And less cotton in the world in 2015 can only help prices in the years to come.

So while 2015 prices may be a tough pill to swallow for many growers, it may also be just the medicine that global cotton needs in the long term.

 

 

Topics:

Leave a Reply

Opinion Stories
Opinion

Cotton’s New Year’s Resolutions

January 10, 2018

What would a list of New Year’s Resolutions look like for the U.S. cotton industry? Beck Barnes has some thoughts to consider.

Opinion

Tariff Discussions Emphasize Need for Free Trade

April 15, 2018

Free, but fair, trade is the need of the hour.

Opinion

Cotton and the Looming Farm Bill

February 27, 2018

Cotton just scored a big victory in Washington DC. But there’s still work to be done, and we need to give credit where it’s due.

Opinion

Several Factors Vital to U.S. Cotton Industry Growth

October 31, 2017

Maintaining market share, enhanced consumer awareness and continued investments in research and development are needed to keep the U.S. cotton industry advancing.

Opinion

Five-Year-Old Girl Enthused by Cotton Research

October 27, 2017

A visit to a cotton research lab can help encourage students – even five-year-old girls – to consider a career in science.

Opinion

Creating Novel Functional Cottons

September 15, 2017

Incorporation of biological molecules to cotton may lead to development of novel functional cottons.

Opinion

Outlook Still Optimistic for Texas Cotton

September 2, 2017

Hurricane Harvey has focused the eyes of the world on Texas. Although cotton losses along the Gulf Coast are substantial, there is still optimism for a bumper crop as the High Plains moves toward harvest.

Around The Gin
Product News

FiberMax Honors One Ton Club Growers for 2017

April 17, 2018

The FiberMax One Ton Club recently honored 188 cotton growers who qualified for the club with their 2017 harvest results.

Product News

BASF Adds Engenia Spray Tool to Aid Applications

April 16, 2018

A new easy-to-use resource puts critical weather requirements for applying Engenia herbicide in one convenient location.

Product News

Reduce Timing Guesswork for Cotton Planting

April 16, 2018

Bayer’s online Cotton Planting Forecasting tool can help growers determine the optimal planting window to improve their chances at securing a strong stand.

Product News

Deltapine NPE Program Begins Class of 19 Evaluations

April 9, 2018

Nine Class of 19 variety candidates will be in growers’ fields this year as the Deltapine New Product Evaluator (NPE) Program kicks off its eleventh season.

Product News

Americot Expands Research and Sales Teams

April 5, 2018

Americot has added six new team members to the company’s research and sales staffs.

Product News

Greenleaf Introduces TipGuard Nozzle System

April 5, 2018

Greenleaf Technologies has introduced its new TipGuard System to protect spray tips from contact damage.

Product News

New BASF Reward Program for AR Growers Facing Dicamba Ban

March 27, 2018

BASF has revised its Grow Smart Rewards program to provide Arkansas growers alternative weed control solutions during the dicamba application ban from April 16 through October 31.

Product News

DuPont Vydate Products Fully Available for 2018

March 15, 2018

DuPont Vydate brand insecticide/nematicide products – including Vydate C-LV for cotton – will be fully available for sale and use during the 2018 growing season.

Latest News
Opinion

Tariff Discussions Emphasize Need for Free Trade

April 15, 2018

Free, but fair, trade is the need of the hour.

Opinion

Cotton and the Looming Farm Bill

February 27, 2018

Cotton just scored a big victory in Washington DC. But there’s still work to be done, and we need to give credit where it’s due.

Opinion

Cotton’s New Year’s Resolutions

January 10, 2018

What would a list of New Year’s Resolutions look like for the U.S. cotton industry? Beck Barnes has some thoughts to consider.

Opinion

Plow Thru Cancer With Me, Won’t You?

November 10, 2017

Cotton Grower Editor/Publisher Beck Barnes gets personal about family and St. Jude...and shares a special request for the cotton community.

Opinion

Several Factors Vital to U.S. Cotton Industry Growth

October 31, 2017

Maintaining market share, enhanced consumer awareness and continued investments in research and development are needed to keep the U.S. cotton industry advancing.

Opinion

Five-Year-Old Girl Enthused by Cotton Research

October 27, 2017

A visit to a cotton research lab can help encourage students – even five-year-old girls – to consider a career in science.

Opinion

Creating Novel Functional Cottons

September 15, 2017

Incorporation of biological molecules to cotton may lead to development of novel functional cottons.

Opinion

Outlook Still Optimistic for Texas Cotton

September 2, 2017

Hurricane Harvey has focused the eyes of the world on Texas. Although cotton losses along the Gulf Coast are substantial, there is still optimism for a bumper crop as the High Plains moves toward harvest.

International

Some New Thoughts for the Cotton Industry

August 23, 2017

Dr. Seshadri Ramkumar of Texas Tech spent part of his summer in India, observing and discussing the country’s cotton industry and goals. He shares some of his observations in this commentary.

Opinion

No One Reason for “Frustrating” Dicamba Issue

July 18, 2017

Tennessee Weed Specialist Larry Steckel has walked hundreds of drift-damaged soybean fields in the past few weeks. He shares some opinions about possible reasons for the problem.

Opinion

Global Cotton Must Confront Polyester

February 23, 2017

In the face of massive shifts in consumption, member nations of the WTO must hold polyester to the same standards as cotton.

Opinion

Cotton Industry Begins Year with Optimism

January 20, 2017

Higher global cotton production and increased demand is the current state of the cotton industry.

Opinion

Is Our 2017 Acreage Estimate Too Low?

January 10, 2017

If our estimate holds true, or if it proves lower than what actually transpires next season, it could mean great things for American cotton in 2017 and beyond.

Opinion

Don’t Be Your Own Worst Enemy

September 7, 2016

At a key moment in the registration process for new weed control technologies, a few irresponsible farmers are threatening to jeopardize it all.

Opinion

Cotton Incorporated Strikes Back

June 28, 2016

When bullies come after our industry, who is better equipped to stare them down than Cotton Incorporated?