Large Slate of New Appointees Join The Cotton Board

Large Slate of New Appointees Join The Cotton Board

Seventeen members and 18 alternatives have been appointed to serve on The Cotton Board by Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack.

The cotton producers and importers appointed by the Secretary are charged with working together to oversee the Cotton Research & Promotion Program.


Cotton Board Chairman Janet Ydavoy, an importer from Portsmouth, NH, noted the large slate of appointees saying, “These emerging leaders in the cotton industry represent a wealth of untapped perspective and insight that will help guide The Cotton Research and Promotion Program forward. The large number of appointees this year gives us an incredible opportunity to cultivate a new era of leadership that will continue to inspire a renewed faith in our industry.”

The newly-appointed members are Alisa Ogden, producer from Carlsbad, NM; F. Guy Darby, Jr., producer from Chester, SC; Helga Ying, importer from Piedmont, CA; Joe Long, importer from Irvine, KY; and Monica Gorman, importer from Winchester, MA.

The newly-appointed alternate members are Albert James, producer from Sikeston, MO; Nathan Jurva, producer from Carlsbad, NM; Don Wakefield, producer from Jackson, SC; Shelley Butler Barlow, producer from Suffolk, VA; Laurie Rando, importer from Scotch Plain, NJ; Crystal Button, importer from Great Neck, NY, and Gary Ross, importer from Yardley, PA.

Darren Hembree, producer from Doerun, GA, was also appointed as an alternate member to fill a vacant Georgia position with a term expiring December 31, 2018.

Re-appointed members are Walter Corcoran, producer from Eufaula, AL; David DeFelix, producer from Campbellton, FL; James Webb, producer from Leary, GA; Suzanne Drouhard, producer from Danville, KS; Kim Mayberry-Holifield, producer from Kennett, MO; Jess “Mark” Nichols, producer from Altus, OK; Willie German, producer from Somerville, TN; Madison “Matt” Farmer, producer from Lamesa, TX; Lance Everett, producer from Stony Creek, VA; Michael Wallace, importer from Bentonville, AR; Peter McGrath, importer from Addison, TX; and Arlene Eastwood, importer from Neptune, NJ.

Re-appointed alternate members are Timothy Mullek, producer from Robertsdale, AL; Alan Edwards, producer from Jay, FL; Benjamin Grimsley, producer from Weston, GA; Thomas Lahey, producer from Moscow, KS; Clint Abernathy, producer from Altus, OK; Catherine Via, producer from Bells, TN; Sigifredo “Sigi” Valverde, producer from Shallowater, TX; Sarah “Sally” Gilligan, importer from San Francisco, CA; James Self III, importer from Greenville, SC; and Tara Hoffman, importer from New York, NY.

“At our upcoming board meeting, we include an orientation process for the new appointees that will educate them about the Program and guarantee they are able to immediately contribute to the Board,” said Ydavoy. “I look forward to building relationships with each of these future influencers of the industry.”

The Cotton Research and Promotion Program is designed to advance the position of cotton in the marketplace. It is funded by assessments on all domestically-produced cotton and imports of foreign-produced cotton and cotton-containing products, and is authorized by the Cotton Research and Promotion Act of 1966. USDA’s Agricultural Marketing Service oversees operations of the Board. All appointees will serve three-year terms.


Source – The Cotton Board