Sledge Taylor Elected NCC Chairman for 2015

Sledge Taylor Elected NCC Chairman for 2015

Sledge Taylor WebSledge Taylor , a Como, MS, cotton ginner, was elected National Cotton Council chairman for 2015 during the NCC’s annual meeting in Memphis February 6-8.

He succeeds Wallace Darneille, a Lubbock, TX, cooperative marketer.


Taylor is president of the Como Consolidated Gin Co., Inc. in north Mississippi and owns Buckeye Farms, where he raises cotton, corn, soybeans, wheat, peanuts and cattle. He was named the Sunbelt Southeastern Farmer of the Year for Mississippi in 2004.

Taylor has a long and distinguished NCC service record. He served as the NCC’s vice chairman in 2014 and was its secretary/treasurer from 2011-13. He was a NCC director from 2007-09 and chairman of the Cotton Foundation in 2012-13, after serving as its president in 2011-12.

Taylor was president of the National Cotton Ginners Association in 2009, and is currently an active member of USDA’s Agricultural Technical Advisory Committee for Trade. He also has been active in regional, state and local organizations, having served as president of Southern Cotton Ginners Association in 2002-2003 and as vice president of the Delta Council in 2001-2002.

NCC vice chairman for 2015 is Shane Stephens, a Greenwood, MS., warehouseman. Clyde Sharp, a producer from Roll, AZ, was re-elected as NCC secretary-treasurer.

David Hastings, a textile manufacturer from Mauldin, SC, was elected as an NCC vice president. Re-elected as vice presidents were Sid Brough, a ginner from Odem, TX; Coalter Paxton, III, a warehouser from Wilson, NC; Joe Nicosia, merchant from Cordova, TN; Meredith Allen, a cooperative marketer from Greenwood, MS; and John Fricke from Pine Bluff, AR, representing the cottonseed segment of the industry.


Source – National Cotton Council