Stephens to Lead the National Cotton Council in 2016

mat hole is 7" x 9.25". Original resolution was 336.7 dpi.

Shane Stephens



Shane Stephens was elected National Cotton Council chairman for 2016 during the NCC annual meeting held in Dallas, TX on February 5-7.

He succeeds Sledge Taylor, a Como, MS, producer and ginner, as chairman.

Stephens, a warehouseman from Greenwood, MS, is vice president of Staplcotn’s cotton services and warehouse divisions. With 11 offices throughout the Mid-South and Southeast, the cotton services division is responsible for recruiting and servicing the cooperative’s grower/members. The warehouse division is responsible for 14 warehouse locations in Mississippi, Arkansas, Louisiana, North Carolina, South Carolina and Georgia.

An active industry leader, Stephens was a member of the NCC 1994-95 Cotton Leadership Program and has served as president of the Program’s alumni association. He previously served as NCC vice president representing the warehouse segment from 2007-12 and served on the NCC Board of Directors from 2001-05 and 2013-14. He has served on numerous NCC committees, having chaired its Packaging and Distribution and Membership and Credentials committees.

Currently the vice president of the Cotton Growers Warehouse Association, Stephens served previously as that organization’s chairman.

Stephens holds a B.S. degree with honors in agricultural economics from the University of Tennessee at Martin.

NCC vice chairman for 2016 is Ronnie Lee, a producer from Bronwood, GA. Barry Evans, a producer from Kress, TX, was elected as NCC secretary-treasurer.

Three new NCC vice presidents were also elected – Robert Lacy, a cottonseed processor, Lubbock, TX; Mike Quinn, a cooperative official, Garner, NC; and Kent Fountain, a ginner, Surrency, GA. Re-elected as NCC vice presidents were Coalter Paxton, III, warehouseman, Wilson, NC; Joe Nicosia, merchant, Cordova, TN; and David Hastings, textile manufacturer, Mauldin, SC.

NCC staff officers include Dr. Gary Adams, NCC president and chief executive officer; Reece Langley, vice president, Washington Operations; Craig Brown, vice president, Producer Affairs; Dr. Jody Campiche, vice president, Economics and Policy Analysis; Dr. Bill Norman, vice president, Technical Services; Harrison Ashley, vice president, Ginner Services; and Fred Johnson, vice president, Administration and Program Coordination.


Source – National Cotton Council