NSP Board Elects Officers, Appoints New Directors

The National Sorghum Producers (NSP) board of directors elected officers and appointed four new board members during its annual August board meeting.

NSP board member Dan Atkisson of Stockton, KS, was elected chairman. Don Bloss of Pawnee City, NE, moves to the past chairman position, and board director Kody Carson of Olton, TX, was elected vice chairman.


New directors appointed to the board include Danny Beyer of Odem, TX; Amy France of Marienthal, KS; and Craig Meeker of Wellington, KS. Larry Richardson of Vega, TX, was also appointed to fill a one-year term held by Mike Battin, who stepped down from the board in March. All other directors will serve three-year terms beginning October 1.

“Our new board members will provide new perspectives and insight to promote change and help build key relationships as NSP continues to improve the sorghum industry though advocacy and leadership,” said Atkisson. “We look forward to their guidance as we continue to craft policies important to sorghum producers.”

The NSP board of directors also recognized four leaders in the sorghum industry who end their terms on the board September 30. J.B Stewart of Keyes, OK, and James Born of Booker, TX, served from 2010-2018 and are both former chairmen. Mike Battin of Lubbock, TX, served from 2014-2018, and Kendall Hodgson of Little River, KS, served from 2012-2018.

“We owe a great debt of gratitude to our outgoing leadership for their service and accomplishments,” noted Atkisson. “Their support, leadership and dedication to sorghum have made valuable improvements to our industry.”


Information provided by National Sorghum Producers